Details of Grants Previously Awarded

2016 – AOUK Major Grants

  • Simon Matthew Graham - ‘Is human immunodeficiency virus an independent risk factor for surgical site infection in open tibia fractures managed by reamed locked nails?   - awarded £9998.00 

2016 – AOUK Project Grants

  • Mr Ben Marson - ‘Identification of biomarkers for osteomyelitis’ - awarded £5000
  • Mr Gavin Walters - characterising the growth factor profile of fracture haematoma in humans’ - awarded £4130.00 
  • Miss Samantha Downie - ‘Prevalence of intimate partner violence (PIV) in orthopaedic trauma patients’ - awarded £817.97

2015 – AOUK Major Grants

  • Dr I Pountos - Characterizing the phenotype of the highly proliferative mesenchymal stem cells fraction
  • Mr M Panteli - Does Dkk-1 play an important role in the development of non-unions?
  • Donald Hansom - The effects on nanopattern surface technology and targeted metabolic therapies on orthopaedic implant related infections
  • Alex Trompeter - Do multiple eccentric screws in the LCP model increase the ability to generate fracture site compressive force, even if the firset screws are not loose.
  • Alex Trompeter - A biomechanial study of proposed alternative techniques to fiving transverse non-comminuted patella fractures
  • Sara Dorman - Management of lateral condyle fractures in children, a protocol for the development of a core outcome set
  • Mustafa Rashid - The development and validation of wearable technology for enhancing assessment of trauma rehabilitatoin outcomes.
  • Katie Rollins & D J Bryson - Body composion, sarcopenia and myosteatosis and survival in polytraumatised patients

Pathway to Portfolio Grant (one off in 2015)

  • Katie Young - Androgen precursor dehydroepiandrosterone pharmacokinetics in trauma (ADaPT)

AOUK Research Prize

  • I Pountos - MSCs isolates result in a morphological and functional heterogeneous population with variable self-renewal and differentiation capacities. The aim of this study was to analyse whether MSC subpopulations have different mitogenic and osteogenic potential.

2014 – AOUK Grants

  • Mr Michalis Panteli - Gene expression of MCSs harvester from bone marrow aspirate and fracture non-union tissue. A pilot study. - awarded £8623.00
  • Dr Ippokratis Pountos - Phenotypic and genetic characteristics of a high proliferative fraction of mesenchymal stem cells - awarded £9347.00
  • Katie Young - A dehydroepiandrosterone and Pharmacokinetics in trauma study (ADaPT). This was awarded £10,000.
  • Dr Tosan Okoro - Trauma assessment and follow-up with integration of modern communication devices (TRAFIC) - a pilot study. This was awarded £9657.77
  • Lucy Silvester - Trauma Rehabilitation. This was awarded £10,000

2014 – AOUK Project Grants

  • Edward Spurrier - Clinical outcome following blast injury in the spine. This was awarded £1035.
  • Iain Varle - Refinement and biomechanical analysis of a PEEK miniplate for mandibular fracture. This was awarded £5,000

2013 – AOUK Grants

  • Ben Hickey - The effect of active toe movement (AToM) on venous thromboembolism and calf pump function in patients treated with lower limb cast immobilisation – awarded £10,000.
  • Salam Ismael - Comparison fatigue burnout and coping mechanisms among orthopaedic and trauma nursing staff in three different environments: a multi-centre study – awarded £5,120.
  • Tim Coughlin - Early outcomes and cost effectiveness of physiotherapy self directed therapy and advice sheets following conservatively managed distal radial fractures – awarded £9,000.
  • Juan de Dios Robinson - A biomechanical analysis of fixation of Vancouver B1 fractures augmented with the 3.5mm attachment locking plate – awarded £9965.00.

2013 - AOUK Project Grants

  • Major John Breeze - A numerical model to simulate the passage of explosively propelled fractures through the neck – awarded £5000. Download research report
  • Ryan Trickett - The minimally clinically important difference in distal radial fracture – setting the standard – awarded £4,900. Download research report

2012 Grants

  • Eleanor Davidson - Cartilage damage following tibial plateau fractures – awarded £7,000. Download research report
  • Dashan Angadi - Biomechanical analysis of femoral fracture fixation using expert adolescent lateral femoral system – awarded £8860.00
  • Gareth Roberts - Computational engineering in the developmental of clinically relevant finate element analysis model of the proximal femur in fracture surgery – awarded £6,000

2012 – Project Grants

  • Hiren Divecha - Biomechanical study of the effect of Pauwel's angle and method of internal fixation in undisplaced intra-capsular neck of femur fractures – awarded £5000.
  • Sush Ramakrishna/Louise Nordin - Stability of different external fixator constructs – a comparison – awarded £1634.52
  • Mustafa Rashid - Configuration of fracture fixation with a proximal femoral periprosthetic plate – how many screws, cortices and cables? A biomechanical study – awarded £5,000.

2011 Grants

  • Benjamin Ollivere - Directed early joint motion post ankle fracture fixation. A randomised controlled trial – awarded £9900.00
  • T.J. Bonner - Lower limb injuries from under vehicle explosions – awarded £10,000.
  • HB Tan - The influence of traumatic brain injury on the dynamics of growth factor release following trauma – awarded £10,000.
  • Alex Trompeter - Correlation of open tibial fracture union rates with vascular injury" – awarded £10,000. Download research report

2010 Grants

  • Ryan Trickett - Measuring recovery in open lower limb fractures – the development of a novel patient centred recovery scale for lower limb trauma – awarded £8709.00. Download research report
  • HB Tan - The study of biological fitness of mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) in elderly patients with proximal femoral fractures – awarded £10,000

AOUK and Ireland 2017
Site Map